The CME was conducted jointly by the Department of Pharmacology and Department of Microbiology, BGS GIMS on 14-09-2022.

Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) is a rising global threat across the globe. Extensive use of antimicrobials is an important factor leading to the development of resistance and thereby resistant strains flourish exponentially in the presence of selective pressure of antimicrobials. In this context, the CME was conducted to sensitize medical students and faculty regarding importance of antimicrobial stewardship programme,antimicrobial resistance, hospital antibiotic policy and emerging trends in drug resistance in hospitals.  

The welcome note was delivered by Dr Kalpana L, Professor & HOD, Dept. of Pharmacology, followed by lamp lighting.The Inaugural Address was given by Dr M.E.Mohan, Dean cum Principal and Vote of thanks by Dr Ragini Ananth Kashid, Professor and HOD, Dept. of Microbiology.

In Pre-Lunch Sessions, following topics were discussed –

Session-1: “Antibiotic Stewardship program – An overview” by Dr Bharath Kumar V D, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Pharmacology, BGS GIMS, Bengaluru.

Session-2: “Antimicrobial Stewardship – Improving clinical outcomes by optimization of Antibiotic practices” by Dr. Pratibha Nadig, Professor & HOD, Dept. of Pharmacology, CDSIMER, Bengaluru.

Session-3: “Hospital antibiotic policy to combat AMR” by Dr Yashaswini M K, Associate Professor and Infection Control Officer – HICC Committee, RRMCH, Bengaluru.

Session-4: “Emerging trends in drug resistance in critical care unit” by Dr Gourishankar Reddy M, Consultant and Head of Medical ICU, Critical Care Medicine Dept, BGS Gleneagles Global Hospital, Bengaluru.

There was good interaction between speakers and the audience related to the topics. The attendees shared their opinions, thoughts and suggestions.

The programme was anchored by Dr.Shaamim, Dr Sudhamani & Dr Ramalakshmi.

Post-lunch session, there was “Quiz on Anti microbial Resistance” for II MBBS students, moderated by Dr Veena R M, from Dept. of Pharmacology, and Dr Bhavana C, from  Dept. of Microbiology.

There was very good response for the Quiz from participating teams, students, audience and faculty.

IInd MBBS students Asmita Prasad and Manogna secured first place in the Quiz.